Australian Muscle Car-Magazine-Current issue

September 8th, 2011 by Luke | No Comments | Filed in Uncategorized |

Jason Richards at the Muscle Car Masters


V8 Supercar driver Jason Richards wowed crowds at the 2011 Australian Muscle Car Masters on Fathers Day, just as he did at the inaugural event in 2006. 

This year, however, there was extra appreciation for Richards’ exploits aboard Paul Stubber’s ex-Holden Dealer Team Torana A9X, with the New Zealander battling a rare form of cancer. Hence, the Torana was officially entered under the ‘FCUK CANCER’ banner. 

Car owner Stubber was thrilled with the big crowd’s reaction when Richards won Sunday’s Group C trophy race. 

“The spectators really got behind Jason, who everyone knows is a ripper bloke, and cheered when he took the chequered flag,” Stubber said. Richards led home Stephen Perrott in a similar Torana, and Adam Workman’s Nissan Bluebird Turbo. 

In the later, combined Group C/A trophy race Richards finished second, behind David Holc’s ex-GIO VL Commodore, the best of the Group A cars. Third was David Towe’s BMW M3. Over 42 cars contested the Group A/C events 

Other highlights witnessed by the bumper crowd on Fathers Day include: 

– Richards turn behind the wheel of the 1987 Le Mans 24 Hour-winning Porsche 962 in a Master Blast session. The same car appeared in the final event of the day, held as the sun was setting, with headlights ablaze. Eastern Creek’s front stretch was not quite the Mulsanne Straight, but the twilight conditions did give punters a taste of the French classic. 

– John French turned laps in the Tru-Blu XD Falcon that he and then team boss Dick Johnson drove to victory in the 1981 James Hardie 1000. 

– Another French Bathurst car, the Ford motor company-entered Phase III in which he finished fifth in the 1971 Great Race, turned laps in the Master Blasts to celebrate the 40th anniversary of that model GT-HO and the race. It hit the track in tandem with two other cars (and drivers) from that race, a Torana GTR XU-1 and Charger R/T E38. The Torana was driven by Digby Cook, who raced it to 23rd position in the ’71 Great Race with Geoff Leeds. Brian Reed was reunited with the Charger he and Graham Ritter drove to 25th outright 40 years ago. 

– Graeme Bailey returned the 1986 Bathurst 1000 winning Chickadee Commodore to the track at a race meeting for the first time in 20 years. The car is the subject of the current AMC’s cover story. 

– Dameon Jameson won the AMCM’s first Sports Sedan Spectacular. The Jaguar driver received the Tony Edmondson Trophy from the duel Australian Sports Sedan Champion himself. 

A one-hour program wrapping up the 2011 Australian Muscle Car Masters will air on 7mate at 3pm on Sunday, October 2.

Leave a Reply

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.