Australian Muscle Car-Magazine-Current issue

December 13th, 2011 by Luke | No Comments | Filed in Uncategorized |

It’s been a big month for the legends of Australian motorsport.

Firstly, John Bowe wrapped up the 2011 Touring Car Masters at Sydney Olympic Park, beating two other past masters – Andrew Miedecke and Jim Richards.

Oh, how we love the TCM. Motor racing’s ‘masters tour’ is far superior to those from tennis and golf, which are both so one-dimensional in comparison.

After all, who gives a toss about Bjorn Borg’s racket or a flying five-iron about what’s in Jack Nicklaus’ golf bag. In contrast, the TCM’s Mustangs, Camaros, Falcons, Monaros and Chargers are stars in their own right.

Anyway, congratulations to Australian Muscle Car magazine’s John Bowe for his latest title. Look for a season review and JB’s column in the January-February edition, out December 21.

Glenn Seton raced his Falcon hardtop at the pointy end in Homebush, and the following evening was inducted into the V8 Supercar Hall of Fame at the sport’s gala awards.

Then it was Allan Moffat’s turn to receive some much-deserved recognition, via life membership of the Australian Racing Drivers’ Club.

The four-time Bathurst winner was given the club’s highest honour, joining legends such as Sir Jack Brabham and Leo Geoghegan.

Moffat first joined the ARDC in 1976, the year he won the inaugural Australian Sports Sedan Championship and his second Australian Touring Car Championship crown.

Finally, it would remiss of AMC not to dip our lid to Jamie Whincup, who won his third V8 Supercar title, cementing his place among the greats.

That’s right, we reckon Whincup now sits alongside the sport’s best. Think about it.

Whincup has won three titles in the last four years, beating teammate Craig Lowndes in the process. The Victorian also won three consecutive Bathurst 1000s, 2006-08.

Whincup is one of just eight drivers to have claimed three championships and three Great Race victories since both entities began in 1960.

The others are Peter Brock, Bob Jane, Dick Johnson, Craig Lowndes, Allan Moffat, Jim Richards and Mark Skaife.

Leave a Reply

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.